The Importance of Being Handsome

We at HMG are sorry we have been absent for so long. We of all people know that you should never left life get in the way of handsomeness.  Although we haven’t been writing, we’ve never stopped thinking about handsomeness and we hope to have lots of posts for your reading pleasure in the coming days.

Today, we are very proud to present our very first HMG Handsome Man Profile. Aaron M. is the husband of HMG’s Chair(wo)man of the Board so you can be sure that he is well versed in every aspect of being handsome.

Recently, Aaron decided to take his level of handsomeness up a notch by starting to grow a moustache (pictured above). Why a moustache? Why now?  I had the privilege of interviewing him and asking him about this new endeavor:

MR: Why is being handsome important to you?
AM: There are a few reasons:

1) I am married, and I feel handsomeness can keep my wife interested and attracted. A lot of mystery disappears when you’re married (or co-habitate), and things can tend to get pedestrian. You get to know the other’s weird habits; it’s inevitable. Plus, the mystery that can be alluring in a partner tends to disappear; my feeling is that mystery in a marriage (on a regular, dating-esque level) would be pretty exhausting and frustrating. Being handsome, however, will have (I hope) a parallel allure. While I might lose a certain mystique around my wife, I hope that an increase in handsomeness will excite her.

2) I like to try new things. I was a late bloomer, and I never bothered to cultivate any personal aesthetics until late college (maybe 7 years ago). In the last few years of working and surviving, I’ve definitely let my physical appearance get a bit lax. I am excited to recapture a sense of having a personal aesthetic, and to make that aesthetic a handsome one. Essentially: I’ve never tried to be “handsome” before, and I’m excited to see how it will be!

3) There was a more attractive time in my life when I enjoyed getting checked out. it’s a bit cheap, and I probably did tend to peacock a bit, but I won’t lie to you – it’s nice to walk down the street or go shopping and feel attractive. It just makes the day sunnier.

MR: What inspired you to grow a moustache?
AM: In the course of “handsome” discussions that often happen around my wife and her friends, the subject of handsome mustaches came up. Specifically Michael Cera’s mustache as “Francois” in “Youth in Revolt.” I was surprised to hear this – I personally thought the mustache in question was meant to be a little silly. I actually thought that *ALL* mustaches were a little silly.

So I got to thinking about it, and I decided: it must look good to SOMEONE! I further decided that it might be possible to sport an attractive mustache. I had never, ever considered a mustache ‘attractive’ before; I decided that the opportunity to learn what makes a mustache handsome and to grow one could only make me happy, and, really, all it would take was time, grooming, references, and thought. Afterward: the knowledge of a handsome mustache would mine, a treasure to carry with me for all time. As they say: “Give a man a mustache, and he might be handsome, but TEACH a man to mustache, and he –” … Wait… How does that go?
MR: Who are your moustache heroes?
AM: I did not have any mustache heroes when I began this, and I am currently using Burt Reynolds and Michael Cera as kinds of “ends of the spectrum” examples of what to do. I want to avoid elaborate, silly ‘staches, or a Hitler mustache; otherwise, sky’s the limit. I figure that my optimal mustache will have many factors; my face, my mustache hair (color, density, shape, etc.), my personal feelings, and the reactions of people around me. I am just growing at the moment; shaping and discerning will come around.
MR: How much more handsome do you expect to look with your moustache (same, 1.5x, 2x, etc)?
AM: Well, now, this is a hell of a question!!! Particularly in light of the question above – I’m not sure what mustache I will have… Time for the mirror…

… I have consulted the mirror. I believe I will be 1.666X more handsome with mustache. I will increase my handsomeness by 2/3rds! It is surprising, upon reflection! Let it be known. 🙂

So there you have it!  Stay tuned for more updates on Aaron’s handsome endeavor.  And if you have any questions for him, please post them in the comments.

2 Responses to “The Importance of Being Handsome”

  1. Welcome back, Handsome Man Group! The world has been a little less handsome without you.

    Best of luck, Aaron, in your handsome mustache endeavor 🙂

  2. Shannon from Los Angeles, Christina's friend Says:

    Did you know that the word handsome used to be applied to women as well as men? And that a hansom is a type of horse drawn carriage?

Leave a Reply

